Unlimited Blade Works Ep. 2

This is a LATE LOOK/REVIEW.

Image heavy. Spoilers are kept minimal as possible.

I was quite sad that the show returned to the usual 23-minute format (no more 47± minutes episodes )-:), but as long as the episode has the right pace and consistent quality, I’m okay with it. I mean, we can’t really do anything with their scheduling, right?

I really like the fate/ series. It has this… Unique storytelling. A unique setting with unique characters, it was a unique fantasy with dark subtleties. You won’t find anything like it. And its universe is quite rich. It took a timeline and generations to show the journey in this epic story. I won’t dive deeper unto it, because it would defeat the purpose of watching the show and knowing it for yourself, you know?

image
As the usual, the studio ufotable did an excellent job with the art quality. The backgrounds are awesomely detailed. Even minor details are perfected. Hair movement without a doubt received the blessing from the heaven. Characters look great in this episode. Rin (pictured above) looked great. I’ve got used to her new look now.
image

Saber also looks great. She is portrayed here better than Fate/Zero in my opinion. If you’ve played the game (which is great), you’d find her bust to be faithful to the original source material. No, I didn’t noticed her chest first.
image

image

What I really do like is Shirou’s improved character design. He looks better and is more aligned to his character in my opinion, compared to the 2006 Deen attempt.
And as usual, the animation is top notch. Especially with this scene:

image

DAT ASS. Seriously, ufotable, that is a fine job for fan service. I don’t usually like fan service especially on a series with a meat and story like this, but it raised my spirits up. I liked it. Good job.
image

I like how they emphasized this scene, showing the pendant again. If you’re interested, this is a very important plot device.
This episode, following the source material faithfully, would feature the appearance of a recurring important character, Kotomine Kirei. Now, if you’ve watched Fate/Zero already, you will know this character and his likely role and motivation in this chapter. If you didn’t, the better. If you’re planning to watch the prequel, do it after finishing this sequel. Trust me, it will make more sense and you’ll appreciate the story more.

image

image

image

image

The scene’s lighting, if I remember from the visual novel, is quite different. It was much more brighter. But I’m fine with subtle changes; after all this is an adaptation. And I liked the change. It adds more to the dark atmosphere. It fits the aura that Kirei brings when he enters the spotlight. It is important to note that subtle notions in the character conversations here are important. The dialogue here is important to remember. You can be patient in the infodump here; infodumps are the necessary evil to be immersed in and understand this epic story.
image

image

That face though. I actually like how they portrayed Rin here. It emphasizes her character more.
image

image

But what makes this episode great (aside from Rin) is the cliffhanger at the end of the episode. God I hate love cliffhangers! Damn you ufotable for delaying berserker I can’t wait for the fight scene Ilya appears along with Berserker.

WRAP-UP:

Overall, absolutely great episode. Even though it doesn’t feature a battle unlike the first prior two episodes, the great animation, attention to details and conversation already makes up for it. Expect Ilya and Berserker next episode in action. Next episode will be great, and must not be missed.

Late look on episodes 0 and 1 coming up.

wpid-screenshot_2014-10-19-12-25-41.png

Leave a Reply

